Union Bank of India was registered on 11 November 1919, as a limited company in Mumbai and was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi. At the time of Independence, UBI had only four branches. After Independence UBI accelerated its growth and by 1969 it had grown to 240 branches in 28 states. UBI is one of India’s largest public sector banks in which the Government owns 55.43% of its share capital. It is listed on the Forbes 2000. It has assets of USD 13 billion and all the bank’s branches have been networked with its 3025 ATMs. The Banks online Telebanking facility is available to all its Core Banking Customers – individual as well as corporate. It has representative offices in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, and Shanghai, Peoples Republic of China, and a branch in Hong Kong. UBI is active in promoting financial inclusion policy and a member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion. It has over 950 branches and approximately 672 ATMs all over the country.