Amritsar district, Punjab

About Amritsar district, Punjab

Amritsar district is one of 22 districts in the state of Punjab in North India. The city of Amritsar is headquarters of this district.

History Amritsar district, Punjab

During British Rule Amritsar was part of Lahore Division and was administratively subdivided into 3 tehsils namely – Amritsar, and Ajnala. Tarn Taran has itself formed into a district headquarters. However as part of the partition of India in 1947 Amritsar district was separated from the rest of the division and awarded to India. During the partition period, the Muslim population of the district, some 30%, left for Pakistan while Hindus and Sikhs from West Punjab in newly created Pakistan migrated in the opposite direction.

The Sikhs were a majority in the Amritsar District about 60% before the partition of 1947. According to 2001 census, Sikhs make up about 77% while Hindus make 21% of the total population of the district.

The Majha Region is the Birthplace of the Sikh religion, and the Birthplace of the Sikh Misls (Sikh Confederacy).

Tourist places in Amritsar

  • Charles W. Bartlett, Amritsar (The Lake by the Golden Temple) 1920
  • Durgiana Temple
  • Gobindgarh Fort
  • Harmandir Sahib
  • Jallianwala Bagh
  • Wagah Border