Siaha District,Mizoram

Siaha District is one of the eight districts of Mizoram state in India. The district is bounded on the north and northwest by Lunglei district, on the west by Lawngtlai District and on the south and east by Myanmar. The district occupies an area of 1399.9 km². Saiha town is the administrative headquarters of the district. The population had decreased from 60,823 (in 2001 census) to 56,574 (in 2011 census). It is the least populous district of Mizoram (out of 8)

History of Siaha District,Mizoram
Saiha District was formerly part of Chhimtuipui District. In 1998 when Chhimtuipui District was split in half, the half that became Saiha District was briefly called by the old name Chhimtuipui District.
Geography of Siaha District,Mizoram
Saiha is the administrative headquarters of Saiha district. It is the third largest town in Mizoram after Aizawl, the state capital and Lunglei. Tuipang, Sangau, Phura and Bualpui NG are the other main towns in Saiha district.
In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Saiha one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the two districts in Mizoram currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.
Divisions in Siaha District,Mizoram
The district has 3 R.D. Blocks, Saiha also known as Siaha, Sangau and Tuipang also known as Tipa V. The 3 assembly constituencies in this district are Saiha, Sangau and Tuipang.

There is one college – Saiha College, under Mizoram University and a number of public and private schools.