Ganjam district,Odisha

Ganjam district is a district in the Indian state of Odisha located on the border of Andhra Pradesh. Ganjam’s total area is 8,070 km² (3,116 mi²).

New Jagannath Sadak connects Ganjam district with Puri.

The district headquarters is Chhatrapur. Ganjam is divided into three sub-divisions Chhatrapur, Berhampur, and Bhanjanagar. The The Imperial Gazetteer of India 1908 lists Ganjam, along with the Thanjavur and South Canara districts, as the three districts of the Madras Presidency where Brahmins were most numerous. As of 2011 it is the most populous district of Odisha (out of 30).

History of Ganjam district,Odisha

Undivided historical Ganjam district included present Gajapati district and also parts of Srikakulam district of Andhra Pradesh before 1950. In 1950, Srikakulam district was organised by separating Srikakulam and Tekkali areas from Ganjam district and Palakonda area from Visakhapatnam district. In 1992, Paralakhemundi, Kasinagar and Ramagiri Udayagiri areas were separated from Ganjam district and organised as Gajapati district. At first, Ganjam has been headquarters of Ganjam district and later Chhatrapur was made as headquarters.

The district is currently a part of the Red Corridor.

Economy of Ganjam district,Odisha

In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Ganjam one of the country’s 250 most impoverished districts (out of 640 districts in total).It is one of the 19 districts in Odisha currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Notable residents of Ganjam district,Odisha

  • Kabi Samrat Upendra Bhanja, poet
  • Biju Patnaik, politician
  • Aneppu Parasuramdas Patro: Justice Party leader and Education Minister in the Raja of Panagal government
  • V. V. Giri, former President of India
  • Biswanath Das, politician
  • Siddhanta Mahapatra, film actor, politician