Karur district,Tamilnadu

Karur is the administrative headquarters of Karur District in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Located on the banks of River Amaravathi, it has been ruled, at different times, by the Chera, Vijayanagar Empire, Madurai Nayaks, Hyder Ali, Carnatic kingdom, and the British. It is located at a distance of 370 kilometres (230 mi) southwest of the state capital Chennai. It is well known for hand loom, power loom textile products, paper and bus body works industries.

Karur has important government educational institutes, colleges and schools. Karur is a part of Karur constituency and elects its member of legislative assembly every five years, and a part of the Karur constituency that elects its member of parliament. The town is administered by a municipality established in 1874 as per the Municipal Corporation Act. The town covers an area of 5.96 km2 and had a population of 70,980 (as of 2011). Roadways are the major mode of transportation to the town, but Karur also has rail connectivity. The nearest airport is Tiruchirapalli International Airport, located 77 km southeast from Karur.


Karur is one of the oldest towns in Tamil Nadu and has played a very significant role in the history and culture of the Tamils. The history dates back to the Sangam period when it was a flourishing trade centre. Karur was built on the banks of river Amaravathi which was called Aanporunai during the Sangam days. According to Hinduism, Brahma began the work of creation here, which is referred to as the “place of the sacred cow.” The names of the early Chera kings who ruled from Karur, have been found in the rock inscriptions in Aaru Nattar Malai close to Karur. The Tamil epic Silapathikaram mentions that the famous Chera King Senguttuvan ruled from Karur. Karur is the capital city of Cheras.

Epigraphical, archaeological and literary evidence indicate that Karur was the capital of early Chera kings of Sangam age. It was called Karuvoor or Vanji during Sangam days. The archaeological excavations undertaken in Karur resulted in the excavation of mat-designed pottery, bricks, mud-toys, Roman coins, Chera coins, Pallava coins, Roman Amphorae, Rasset coated ware and rare rings.Karur might have been the center for old jewellery-making and gem setting (with the gold imported mainly from Rome), as seen from various excavations. In 150 CE, Greek scholar Ptolemy mentioned “Korevora” (Karur) as a very famous inland trading center in Tamil Nadu.It was ruled by the Cheras, Gangas, Cholas, the Vijayanagara Nayaks, Tipu Sultan and the British successively.

Karur municipality was constituted in 1874. It was upgraded to I grade municipality from 24.10.69 and upgraded to selection grade municipality from 24.05.1988 and as special grade municipality from 07.04.1988.

Tourism and places of interest
Picnic spots

  • Mayanur – Kaveri bed regulator, Dam and River side park
  • Chettipalayam – Amaravathi bed regulator, park
  • Tirumukkudalur – Kaveri,Amaravathi and Noyyal rivers coincide here
  • Nerur – Sacred muut, Meditation, River side park
  • Kadavur – Ponnaniyar dam, park
  • Manthirikonpatty-Dam and River Side Park
  • Temples

  • Sri Balasubramania swamy temple, Vennaimalai
  • Shree Kalyana Pasupatheeswarar Temple (Thiru Aanilai), Karur
  • Shree Abayapradhana Ranganathar Temple, Karur
  • Shree Karuvur Mariyamman Temple, Karur
  • Thanthondrimalai Shree Kalyana Venkataramanaswamy Temple
  • Shree Balasubramania Swamy Temple, Vennaimalai
  • Pugazhimalai Shree BalasubramaniaSwamy Temple (Aaru Naatar Malai)
  • Balamalai Shree Balathandayuthapani Temple
  • Vanjeleeshwarar Temple, Karur
  • Koteeshwarar Temple, Karur
  • Sri Chakkarathalwar Temple, Karur
  • Venjamangudalur Vigirtheeswarar Temple
  • Chettipalayam Gundaleeswarar Temple
  • Noyyal Shree Selaandiyamman Temple
  • Sri Soliamman Temple,Attur.
  • Vanjiyamman Temple
  • Velliyanai-Shree kalyana Pressana Venkatramana Perumal Samy Temple
  • Velliyanai-Shree Devi karumariyamman Temple
  • Manmangalam- Shree pudhu Kaliamman Temple
  • Valangiyamman Temple
  • Aravakkurichi Kasi visvanathar Temple
  • Vangal Shree Vangalamman Temple
  • Nerur Shree Sadhasiva Bhrameendhraal Temple
  • Nerur Agneeshwarar Temple
  • Madhukkarai Sellandiyamman Temple
  • Manmangalam Shree Kaliyamman Temple
  • Periyamadhiyagudalur Arungaraiamman Temple
  • Chinna Darapuram Munimukktheswarar Temple
  • Moolapalayam Shree Maragatheeswarar Temple (Hill)
  • Krishnarayapuram Tirukkanmalleswarar Temple
  • Kadavur Vasantha perumal Temple
  • Veerappur Kannimaramman, Ponnar Sankar Temple
  • Kulithalai Kadambar Temple
  • Kulithalai Neelameegha perumal Temple
  • Iyermalai Rathinagireeshwarar Temple
  • Sivayam Sivapurishwarar Temple
  • Lalapet Iyyapan Temple (1st Iyyapa Temple in Tamil Nadu)
  • Lalapet Sri Jaya Anjaneya temple
  • Lalapet new Semponpothieswarar temple ( lord siva )
  • Lalapet Ayyanar appan temple
  • Mahanadhapuram Mahalakshmi Amman temple
  • Togamalai Murugan Temple
  • Tirumukkudalur Agastheeshwarar Temple
  • Rangamalai Malleeshwarar Temple
  • Puliyur Vyakarapuriswarar temple
  • Uppidamangalam Adiyaarkku ealiyaar Temple
  • Thottakuruchi Malayamman Temple
  • Manthirikonpatty vinayagar kovil
  • Govindampalayam bhagavathi amman temple
  • Lalapet kodikkal street bhagavathiamman temple
  • Lalapet maariamman temple