Pratapgarh district,Uttar Pradesh

The Pratapgarh district (Hindi: प्रतापगढ़ ज़िला, Urdu: پرتاپ گڑھ ضلع‎) is one of the districts of Uttar Pradesh state of India, and Pratapgarh town is the district headquarters. The Pratapgarh district is a part of Allahabad division and lies between 25° 34′ and 26° 11′ latitudes while between 81° 19′ and 82° 27′ longitudes.

History and etymology
The district is named after its headquarters town Bela Pratapgarh, commonly known as Pratapgarh. Raja Pratap Singh, a local raja between 1628–1682, located his headquarters at Rampur near the old town of Aror. There he built a garh (fort) and called it Pratapgarh after himself. Subsequently, the area around the fort became known as Pratapgarh. When the district was constituted in 1858, its headquarters was established at Bela, which came to be known as Bela Pratapgarh, the name Bela presumably being derived from the temple of Bela Bhawani on the bank of river Sai. It is popularly known as “Bela Mai” – meaning mother goddess Bela.
In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Pratapgarh one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).It is one of the 34 districts in Uttar Pradesh currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.
Notable people

  • Munishwar Datt Upadhyay (1898-1983), statesman, leader in the Indian independence movement, educationist and the first Member of Parliament from Pratapgarh
  • Raja Bajrang Bahadur Singh, founder vice chancellor of Pant Nagar University and later the first Governor of Himanchal Pradesh state of India
    Dinesh Singh (1925-1995), Deputy Minister in the ministry of external affairs and served as a member of parliament
  • Babu Gulab Singh (died 1857), Indian Freedom Fighter, participated and sacrificed in the war of Indian Rebellion of 1857
  • Harivansh Rai Bachchan (1907-2003) poet and professor of Allahabad University, best known for his early work Madhushala; father of Bollywood star Amitabh Bachchan,he also came here.
  • Raghuraj Pratap Singh (born 1969) known as Raja Bhaiya, politician, independent member of legislative assembly and MLA of Pratapgarh district Uttar Pradesh
  • Jagadguru Kripalu Maharaj (1922 – 2013), Hindu spiritual leader and saint from Mangarh, Pratapgarh
  • Shweta Tiwari (born 1980), Bollywood and Bhojpuri film actress and winner of the fourth season of the reality show Bigg Boss
  • Pramod Tiwari (born 1956), senior leader of Congress Party and EX MLA from (Rampur Khas), and current MP of Rajya Sabha Pratapgarh,Uttar Pradesh.