Bahraich district,Uttar Pradesh

Bahraich (Hindi: बहराइच; Urdu: بہرائچ‎) is a town and a municipal board in Bahraich district in the state of Uttar Pradesh, India. Located on the Saryu River, a tributary of river Ghaghra, Bahraich is 125 km north-east of Lucknow, the state capital. The towns of Barabanki, Gonda, Balrampur, Lakhimpur and Sitapur share local boundaries with Bahraich. A factor which makes this town important is the international border shared with the neighboring country, Nepal. According to Government of India, the district Bahraich is one of the minority concentrated district in India on the basis of the 2001 census data on population, socio-economic indicators and basic amenities indicators.


Bahraich was in historic Awadh. The district was part of the Nanpara Taluqdari ruled by a succession of Rajas who owned more than three hundred villages in the district and all the forests. A large part of the education system as well as major roads and hospitals were legacies of the late Raja Sadat.


Bahraich borders Nepal districts Bardiya to the northwest and Banke to the northeast. The rest of Bahraich is surrounded by other districts in Uttar Pradesh: Lakhimpur and Sitapur on the west, Hardoi to the southwest, Gonda to the southeast, and Shravasti to the east.

Tourist spots

  • Sravasti-45 km from city center
  • Ghantaghar (Clock Tower Of Bahraich)
  • Dargah Of AmeerMah
  • Gurudwara
  • Siddhnath Temple
  • Mari Mata Temple
  • Maharaja Suheldev Temple
  • Risiya Park
  • Katarniya Ghat & Lakkad Shah
  • Markaz Alam Shaheed Masjid
  • Dargah Of Ameer Mah
  • Jama Masjid
  • Markazi Idgah SalarGanj
  • Ek Minara Masjid Badihat Bahraich