Basti district,Uttar Pradesh

Basti is a town and a municipal board in Basti district in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. Basti district (Hindi: बस्ती जिला, Urdu: ضلع بستی), is one of the districts of Uttar Pradesh state, India and Basti town is the district headquarters. Basti district is a part of Basti Division.

Basti was originally known as village. The origin of the name Vaishishthi is attributed to the fact that this area was the Ashram of Rishi (sage) Vashistha in ancient period. Lord rama with his younger brother laxman had been here for some time with rishi vasistha.

The tract comprising the present district was remote and much of it was covered with forest. But gradually the area became inhabitable, for want of recorded and reliable history it cannot, with any degree of certainty, be said how the district came to known by its present name on account of the original habitation (Basti) having been selected by the Kalhan Raja as a seat of his Raj, an event which probably occurred in the 16th century. In 1801,. Basti became the Tehsil headquarters and in 1865 it was chosen as the headquarters of the newly established district.

Origin of name

Basti came from the original name basisthi, Basisth the great sage ashram situated in this area Sher Shah Suri made a well and a sarai here and hence receiving the name.

In 1801, the town Basti became a tehsil headquarter, and in 1865, it was chosen as the headquarters of the newly established Basti district of Gorakhpur Commissionary

Vernaculars spoken in the district include Awadhi in western areas and Bhojpuri in the eastern side. The district Basti may be considered as the demarcation of the languages Awadhi and Bhojpuri. In city, due to increase in educated population, khari boli of Hindi is also observed in daily conversations.
Notable people
Some notable persons from the district include:

  • Obaid Siddiqi, an eminent biologist (geneticist), referred to as the founder of the Modern Biology in India. Founded TIFR (Molecular Biology Dep.) and NCB,Bangalore.
  • Ramchandra Shukla, who is regarded as the first codifier of the history of Hindi literature in a scientific system.
  • Sarveshwar Dayal Saxena – a Hindi poet who received the government Sahitya Academy prize.
  • Jagdambika Pal – Former chief minister of UP Government.
  • Harish Dwivedi – Member of Parliament from Bharatiya Janata Party adopted Amodha Khas Gram Panchayat in Basti district, Uttar Pradesh.