Gorakhpur district,Uttar Pradesh

Gorakhpur is a city located along the banks of Rapti river in the eastern part of the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is located near the Nepal border, 273 kilometers east of the state capital Lucknow. It is the administrative headquarter of Gorakhpur District and Gorakhpur Division. The city is home to the Gorakshanath Temple (Gorakhnath Math).

The district was ceded by the Nawab of Awadh to the British East India Company in 1801.
Gorakhpur district lies between latitude 26°46´N and longitude 83°22´E. The district covers an area of 7,483.8 square kilometres (2,889.5 sq mi). It is bounded by Maharajganj district to the north, Kushinagar and Deoria districts in the east, (Rajesultanpur) Ambedkar Nagar, Azamgarh, and Mau districts to the south, and Sant Kabir Nagar district to the west. The district is part of Gorakhpur division.
In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Gorakhpur one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).It is one of the 34 districts in Uttar Pradesh currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.
Notable residents

  • Asit Sen Bollywood and Bengali
  • Yogi Adityanath – Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Member of Parliament who has represented Gorakhpur in the Lok Sabha (lower house of the Indian Parliament) since 1998.
  • Kedarnath Singh, poet, critic
  • Mahmood Farooqui Indian writer, artist and director
  • Munshi Premchand, writer, novelist
  • Narendra Hirwani international cricket player
  • Panne Lal Yadav, wrestler
  • Raghupati Sahay, writer, critic
  • Ram Upendra Das, economist
  • Ravi Dubey, actor
  • Shakir Ali, barrister
  • Syed Modi, badminton player, winner of Arjuna Award
  • Saurabh Shukla, actor
  • Anurag Kashyap, director