Siddharthnagar district,Uttar Pradesh

Siddharthnagar district (Hindi: सिद्धार्थनगर ज़िला) is one of the 75 districts of Uttar Pradesh state in Northern India. Naugarh town is the district headquarters. Siddharth Nagar district is a part of Basti division. The district is known for the ruins of the Shakya Janapada, at Piprahwa. 22 km from the district headquarters Naugarh. According to the Government of India, Siddharthnagar district is one of the Muslim concentrated districts in India on the basis of the 2001 census data on population, socio-economic indicators and basic amenities indicators.


Siddharthnagar district was carved out on 29 December 1989 by bifurcating Basti district. The new district comprised the northern part of the erstwhile Basti district.

Siddharthnagar district encompasses the village of Piprahwa (22 km from Naugarh), best known for its archaeological site. A large stupa and the ruins of several monasteries are located within the site at Piprahwa. Ancient residential complexes and shrines were uncovered at the adjacent mound of Ganwaria.

Some scholars have suggested that modern-day Piprahwa-Ganwaria was the site of the ancient city of Kapilavastu, the capital of the Shakya kingdom, where Siddhartha Gautama spent the first 29 years of his life, according to Buddhist texts such as the Pāli Canon.Others suggest that the original site of Kapilavastu is located 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) to the northwest, at Tilaurakot, in what is currently Kapilvastu District in Nepal.

Notable individuals from the region have included Ahmad Hussain Akrahra, Khajuria Baadshah Mehdi Hasan Khan Khajuria, freedom fighter Qazi Adeel Abbasi, Qazi Iftekhar Ahmad, Haji Noorul Haque (Naugarh Bazar) and Maulana Abdul Qayyum Rahmani. Saddened by communal riots and massacre during
the partition of India, Maulana Abdul Qayyum Rahmani, an eminent leader of Congress, abandoned politics and settled down in his native village of Dudwania in his later years. Freedom fighter Prabhudayal Vidyarthi, arrested at Sevagram and confined in an isolation cell from 1942 to 1945 in Nagpur Jail,
Maharashtra, came from Siddharthnagar district. The bridge on Farenda Naugarh-Barhni Shravasti Road is named Prabhu Dayal Vidyarthi Van Ganga Bridge to honour him.

Main sights
There are many places to visit within the district.

  • Piprahwa
  • Paltadevi Temple
  • Yogmaya Temple is located in the village Jogiya. People come to make a wish every Monday and Friday by offering devi a kadahi and prasad of puri and sweet halva. Mundan for young children is also performed in the vicinity of the temple. Every year a big two-day mela is held here on Dev Diwali or Kartik Purnima, when people bathe in the nearby river and make a wish to Maa Yogmaya. It is also believed that this temple was called Mahamaya Temple, named after the mother of Siddhartha or Gautama Buddha.
  • Banganga Barage
  • Notable politicians

    This district has produced many political personalities and national icons. Freedom fighter and prominent leader Prabhudayal Vidyarthi, who lived with Gandhi at Sevagram Wardha, belonged to Jogiya Udaipur of Siddartha Nagar. Freedom fighter and former state minister Kazi Jalil Abbasi belongs to Bayara Village of Siddhartha Nagar. Freedom fighter and ex-MLA Mathura Prasad Pandey was a prominent politician of this region. Lt. Minister Dinesh Singh played an important role in making the government of Samajwadi Party in 2003. Shri Mata Prasad Pandey is a prominent political face from Siddharthanagar District; he is currently Speaker of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

    Jagdambika Pal (a member of the Indian National Congress who has recently joined the Bharatiya Janata Party) also contests in election from Dumariyaganj (Parliamentary seat in Siddharthanagar District). Ex-MLA Kamla Sahni w/o Prabhudayal Vidyarthi (who got Siddharthnagar bifurcated from Basti and 40km Lakhnapar-Baidaullah Dam in Kachchar/Terai area) is from the district. Ex-minister Abhimanyu Prasad Pandey, Taufeeq Ahmad, Mohammed Muqeem and Kamal Yusuf Malik (ex. state minister in State Government), Swayamber Chaudhary (ex-MLA BJP), Maulana Hamidullah Chaudhary (President NCP Siddharth Nagar), Ram Kripal Chaudhary (son of Swayamber Chaudhary and ex-Zila Panchayat member) also belong to this district. Congress MLA Gopi Nath Kameshwar Puri also belonged to this district; he represented Itwa constituency. Brij Bhushan Tiwari, former MP and Vice President of the Samajwadi Party who represented Uttar Pradesh in the Rajya Sabha, came from Jamuni, a small village in this district’s Soharathgarh tehsil.Last but not least a rising social worker Avadhesh kumar yadav belongs to a small village imiliya sumali which is in Barhni block .