Sultanpur district,Uttar Pradesh

Sultanpur is a district in the state of Uttar Pradesh in northern India. The district is a part of Faizabad Division. Its administrative headquarters is Sultanpur.


Around the 14-15th century, Rajkunwar branch of Chauhan Dynasty claiming to be direct descendent of Hammir Dev Chauhan of Ranthambore along with other clans like Bandalgotis, Rajwars and Bachgotis ruled over a large part of the district. In the 19th century, one notable incident was the revolt of the native troops stationed at Sultanpur during the Sepoy Mutiny after the British annexation of Oudh. The troops rose in rebellion on 9 June 1857, and, after murdering two of their officers, sacked the station. Native people and tribes like that of Bhale Sultans also fought in the rebellion. Leaders like Lal Pratap Singh of Kalakankar and Maharaj Bariar Singh Rajkunwar along with others fought and died for the cause. Upon the restoration of order, Sultanpur cantonment was strengthened by a detachment of British troops; but in 1861 it was entirely abandoned as a military station.


It has an area of 1,713 square miles (4,437 km2) . The surface is generally level, being broken only by ravines in the neighborhood of the rivers. The central portion is highly cultivated, while in the south are widespread arid plains and swampy jhils or marshes. The principal river is the Gomti River, which passes through the centre of the district and serves a valuable highway for commerce. Minor streams are the Kandu, Pili, Tengha and Nandhia; their channels form the outlet for the superfluous water of the jhils, draining into the Sai. Due to its plain fertile land and irrigation facilities, it has got an agricultural importance. Primarily an agricultural district, its principal crops are rice, pulses, wheat, barley, sugarcane and a little poppy.

Notable people

  • Varun Gandhi, Member of Parliament, affiliated with the Bhartiya Janta Party
  • Arun Verma, MLA Jaysingpur, affiliated with the SP
  • Sanjay Singh (activist), Speaker AAP, affiliated with the Aam Aadmi Party
  • Majrooh Sultanpuri, Born as Asrar Hasan Khan, on 1 October 1919 at Sultanpur, Azamghar, Uttar Pradesh, he received his early education in Urdu, Persian and Arabic. Young Asrar was trained at an Unani College in Lucknow to become a Hakim and he even practiced as an Unani practitioner for a year. Little was known that this young man was destined to create not just ripples but storm in the Urdu Literary world with his phenomenal versatility in poetry and film song writing as Majrooh Sultanpuri. As the first poet to be honoured with the 25th Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 1994 for the year 1993Late Pt Sripati Mishra, Renowned Lawyer, Education Minister, Speaker & Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh
  • Gajanand Singh, In 1922 Gajanand Singh, who was from Rajkumar clan of Rajput and an arcane freedom fighter, built a foundation stone of the Village Kaithwara near Dira. Gajanand Singh played a strategic role and chalked out plans to continue the struggle for independence in this region of central United Provinces.