Sant Ravidas Nagar District,Uttar Pradesh

Sant Ravidas Nagar District is a district of Uttar Pradesh state in northern India. The city of Gyanpur is the district headquarters.

There are total 6 blocks in this district.

  • Abholi
  • Aurai
  • Bhadohi
  • Deegh
  • Gyanpur
  • Suriyawan
  • History

    Sant Ravidas Nagar District was created on 30 June 1994 as the 65th district of the State. It is the smallest district by area of Uttar Pradesh. Sant Ravidas Nagar’s (S.R.N.) old name was Bhadohi. The Mayawati government changed this district’s name from Bhadohi to Sant Ravidas Nagar. It was part of Varanasi district prior to it creation on 30 June 1994.


    This district is situated in the plains of the Ganges River, which forms the southwestern border of the District. Ganges, Varuna and Morva are the main rivers. The district is surrounded by Jaunpur District to the north, Varanasi District to the east, Mirzapur District to the south, and Allahabad District to the west. The district has an area of 1055.99 km². Rampur is a famous ghat in Bhadohi, and there are some famous temples in Bhadohi that are Sita Samahit Sthal (Sitamarhi),Semradhnath Bhole Shankar Mandir, Baba Harihar Nath (Gyanpur), Baba Doodhnath (Gyanpur), Chakwa Mahaveer, Shiv Mandir (Sundarpur), Ghopaila Devi Mandir (Gyanpur), Shani dham . Tilngeswarnath, Tilanga Shivjatpur and Bhadrakaali temple, and Baba Gangeshwarnath Dham situated in Itahara Uparwar Village.


    This district is divided into three tehsils, Aurai Tehsil, Bhadohi and Gyanpur, and six blocks, Bhadohi, Suriyawan, Gyanpur, Deegh, Abholi, and Aurai. There are 1075 populated and 149 non-populated villages along with 79 Nyay-panchayat and 489 Gram panchayats in the district. The district has nine police stations.