Jalpaiguri district,West Bengal

Jalpaiguri district is a district of the Indian state of West Bengal, It is situated between 26° 16′ and 27° 0′ North latitudes and 88° 4′ and 89° 53′ East longitudes. The district was established in 1869 in British India.

The headquarters of the district are in the Indian city of Jalpaiguri, which is also the divisional headquarters of North Bengal and has its special importance in respect of tourism, forest, hills, tea gardens, scenic beauty and commercialization and business.


Jalpaiguri district comprises western Dooars and the major part of the eastern Morang; and this area, according to Sailen Debnath, in the ancient time was a part of the kingdom of Kamrup, and since the middle of the seventh century it became a part of the Kingdom of Kamatapur.[1] Sailen writes that three of the five ancient capitals of Kamatapur were geographically in the district of Jalpaiguri; and the three capitals were at Chilapata, Mainaguri and Panchagarh in sequence. According to him, Hingulavas, the first capital of the next Koch kingdom as well was in Jalpaiguri district. Hingulavas has well been identified with Mahakalguri in Alipurduar Sub-Division.


Jalpaiguri is a part of West Bengal which is situated in North Bengal.

The district situated in the northern part of West Bengal has international borders with Bhutan and Bangladesh in the north and south respectively and district borders with Darjeeling hills in the west and northwest and Alipurduar district and Cooch Behar district on the east.

National protected areas include the Gorumara National Park and the Chapramari Wildlife Sanctuary.

Visitor Attractions

  • Jalpaiguri Palace
  • Raikatpara Palace Gate
  • Bay of the River Teesta
  • Rajbari Dighi, Jalpaiguri
  • North Bengal University 2nd Campus next to the Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College
  • Gorumara National Park, Malbazar, Jalpaiguri
  • Chapramari Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Jogomaya Kali Temple, Temple Street
  • Royal Palace of Baikunthapur Royal Estate, at Rajbaripara. The building has made in the early twentieth century in place of the old palace by Raja Jayantadev Raikot.
  • Several lakes in Rajbari Palace ground among them, the largest one excavated in the time of Raja Sarbadev Raikot by Deenu Gomasta of Dinajpur around the middle of nineteenth century.
  • Raipur Tea Estate, Rangdhamali, Jalpaiguri.
  • Jalpaiguri Nawab Bari, (now the Circuit Bench of the Calcutta High Court)
  • Jubilee Park, a park located on the spurs of the River Teesta
  • Rabindra Bhawan (also called the Arya Natya Samaj), a cultural centre
  • The Teesta River
  • Teesta Udyan, a children’s park along the banks of the Karala River.
  • Sarojendra Deb Raikat Kala Kendra, an art gallery (now a cineplex), opposite the Town Club Stadium.
  • Jogomaya Kalibari, a famous temple dedicated to the Goddess Kali on Temple Street. It also houses a temple of Baba Loknath.
  • Durga Puja, especially “The Ravana Badh” at Babupara
  • Devi Bhramari Temple at Bodaganj near Maynaguri on the banks of river Teesta which is regarded as one of the 51 Shakti Peethas of India. People believed that the sacred left toe of Devi Sati has fallen after the famous daksha-yajna.
  • Gosala Mela near Denguajhar (Organised by Shri Baikunthnath Pinjrapol Gosala)
  • Devi Chaudhurani Mandir- It is believed that Devi Chaudhurani the bandit queen from the novel of Bankim Chandra Chatterjee, has her Kali Temple near the banks of the Karala River and has an underground subway to the banks of Teesta.
  • Jalpesh Temple- An old Shiva temple about 15 km from the city, established more than five hundred years ago.
  • Jatileshwar Temple- Another ancient temple dedicated to Lord Shiva, from the time of Sen period.
  • Notable residents

  • Ratan Lal Basu, fiction writer in English
  • Samaresh Majumdar, Bengali author of novels like Uttoradhikar, Kalpurush, and Kaalbela.
  • Pradip Kumar Banerjee, football player and coach who represented India at the international level.
  • Mimi Chakraborty, Tollywood actress
  • Nirmal Bose, Senior Cabinet Minister government of West Bengal, Member of Parliament, President Indian Political Science Association.