Purba Medinipur district,West Bengal

Purba Medinipur district (pron: purbɔ med̪iːniːpur) (Bengali: পূর্ব মেদিনীপুর জেলা) or East Midnapore district (pron: ˌmɪd̪naˈpur) is an administrative unit in the Indian state of West Bengal. It is the southernmost district of Burdwan division – one of the three administrative divisions of West Bengal. The headquarters in Tamluk. It was formed on 1 January 2002 after the Partition of Midnapore into Purba Medinipur and Paschim Medinipur which lies at the northern and western border of it. The state of Odisha is at the southwest border; the Bay of Bengal lies in the south; the Hooghly river and South 24 Parganas district to the east; and Howrah district to the north-east.
Purba Medinipur is formed of the sub-divisions of Tamluk, Contai and Haldia of erstwhile Midnapore district.Another sub-division, Egra has been created out of the erstwhile Contai sub-division during the partition of Midnapore. In 2011, the state government has proposed to rename the district as Tamralipta district after the ancient port city of Tamralipta which used to lie near the modern district headquarters.
Purba Medinipur saw many political movements during the British Raj. A parallel government named the Tamralipta Jatiya Sarkar was formed during the Quit India Movement in Tamluk.In 2007, Purba Medinipur witnessed the Nandigram violence, an incident of police firing that killed 14 farmers.

Major cities and towns
Major cities and towns include Panskura, Tamluk, Nandakumar, Contai, Egra, Haldia, Mecheda, Mahisadal, Kajlagarh, Digha, Mandarmani, Khejuri, Ramnagar, Patashpur, Bhagabanpur, Manglamarro, Chandipur, Kolaghat, Deshopran, Paniparul, Deulihat, Heria, Nandigram.
In 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Purba Medinipur one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).It is one of the 11 districts in West Bengal receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).
The coastal region of Purba Medinipur district is in the face of rivers Hoogly and Subarnarekha. With good coastal, landform, seasonal, rural and heritage diversity, it offers potential for tourism in its typical coastlines and rural areas. The famous tourist spots are[11]
Tamluk (Tamralipta)
Tamluk, district headquarters of Purba Medinipur district is situated on the bank of river Rupnarayan and the bank of which is a very popular picnic spot. The other places are

  • Temple of Devi Barghobhima is a 1150 years of Kali temple and is considered as one of the 51 Shakti Peethas. According to Puran, the gorali of left feet of Sati/Parvati fell here when Lord Vishnu cut the sacred body of Goddess Sati into several pieces to make Lord Shiva quiet.
  • Archeological Museum of tamluk is a must-see place. It contains artifacts of tamra (copper) and has preserved a tamralipta of Greek inscriptions. It preserves the historical heritage of Bengal.
  • Rakhit Bati is the another important place to visit in Tamluk. In the beginning of 19th century it was famous as a secrete center of the then revolutionary party Anusilan Samiti and Gupta Samiti.
  • There are many other ancient temples in Tamluk town to visit, i.e., Jagannath Temple, Hari Temple, Mahaprabhu Temple, Ram Jiu Temple, Rajbari Temple etc. You can enjoy sylvan beauty and soothing breeze at Rupnarayan river side.