Chhota Udaipur district,Gujarat

Chhota Udaipur district (also Chhota Udepur district) is a district in the state of Gujarat in India. It was carved out of the Vadodara district on 26 January 2013 with its headquarters at Chhota Udaipur town and is the 28th district of Gujarat.


The district consists of the six talukas of Chhota Udepur, Pavi Jetpur, Kawant, Naswadi, Sankheda and the newly created Bodeli taluka.The district headquarters is located at Chhota Udepur.

The district was created to facilitate decentralisation and ease of access to government services. Its creation, announced in the run up to the Assembly elections in Gujarat in 2012, was also seen by the media and political analysts as a government strategy to attract tribal votes.


Chhota Udaipur was the capital of the erstwhile Princely State of Chhota Udaipur, founded in 1743 by Rawal Udeysinhji, a descendant of Patai Rawal of Champaner. This state was a second class state under Rewa Kantha Agency and merged with the Union of India on March 10, 1948.

Rulers (title Maharawal)

  • 1762 – 1771 Arsisinhji
  • 1771 – 1777 Hamirsinhji II
  • 1777 – 1822 Bhimsinhji
  • 1822 – 1851 Gumansinhji
  • 1851 – 1881 Jitsinhji
  • 1881 – 1895 Motisinhji
  • 1895 – 29 Aug 1923 Fatehsinhji (b. 1884 – d. 1923)
  • 29 Aug 1923 – 15 Oct 1946 Natwarsinhji Fatehsinhji (b. 1906 – d.1946)
  • 15 Oct 1946 – 15 Aug 1947 Virendrasinhji (b. 1907)
  • Culture
    The Kali Niketan (Nahar Mahal) palace, built as the summer residence of the erstwhile royal family is a notable monument in Chhota Udaipur. Chhota Udaipur is also known for the Rathwas in and around the city. The Rathwas are known for Pithora painting, usually carried out on the walls of the village houses. The tribal museum of Chhota Udaipur has a large collection of tribal artefacts. Many tribal artefacts are also brought for sale in the hats (weekly markets) in the city and nearby in largest dolomite lums and powder.