Hingoli district,Maharashtra

Hingoli district is an administrative district in the state of Maharashtra in India. The district headquarters are located at Hingoli. The district occupies an area of 4,526 km² and has a population of 11,77,345 of which 15.60% were urban (as of 2011).One of the twelve Jyotirlinga shrines, the Aundha Nagnath is located in Hingoli district.
As of 2011 it is the third least populous district of Maharashtra (out of 39), after Sindhudurg and Gadchiroli.


Marathwada was initially under Nizam’s regime. Hingoli was the taluka of Parbhani district and part of Nizam’s regime. It was actually Nizam’s military base as it was border place with Vidhrabha. In that era military troops, hospitals, veterinary hospital were in operation from Hingoli. Residents of Hingoli had experienced two big wars between Tipu Sultan and Maratha in 1803 and in 1857 between Nagpurkar and Bhosale. Being a military base the city was one of the important and famous place of the Hydrabad State.

Some of the names like Paltan, Risala, Tophkhana, Pensionpura, Sadar Bazaar are famous today. In the 1956, post independence when the state were reconstructed Marathwada was attached to Mumbai State and in 1960 Hingoli became part of the Maharashtra State as part of Parbhani district. Later on 1 May 1999 Hingoli district came into existence by division of Parbhani.
Tourist Places

  • Jaleshwar Mahadev Temple(present in the lake).
  • Narshi namdev temple(one of guru of sikhs)
  • Aundha Nagnath, 8th Jyotirlinga
  • Tulja Devi Sansthan Ghota, Tahsil – Hingoli.
  • Sant Namdev Sansthan Narsi,
  • Mallinath Digambar Jain Temple.
  • Dakshinmukhi Hanuman temple, Khatkali.