Ratnagiri district,Maharashtra

Ratnagiri district is one of the 36 districts of Maharashtra state in Western India. Ratnagiri (city) is the district headquarters of the district. The district is 11.33% urban.The district is bounded by the Arabian Sea to the west, Sindhudurg district to the south, Raigad district to the north and Satara, Sangli and Kolhapur districts to the east. This district is part of Konkan division.

There are five Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district. These are:

  • Rajapur
  • Ratnagiri
  • Guhagar
  • Chiplun
  • Khed
  • There are two Lok Sabha constituencies in which the district is partly represented:

  • Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg Lok Sabha constituency: This includes the southern part of Ratnagiri district, namely, Chiplun, Ratnagiri and Rajapur constituencies, along with the entire Sindhudurg District.
  • Raigad Lok Sabha constituency: This includes the northern part of the district, namely, Khed, Guhagar and Dapoli constituencies, along with part of the neighbouring Raigad district.
  • Demographics

    According to the 2011 census Ratnagiri district has a population of 1,612,672,roughly equal to the nation of Guinea-Bissau[3] or the US state of Idaho. This gives it a ranking of 311th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 196 inhabitants per square kilometre (510/sq mi) .Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was -4.96%.Ratnagiri has a sex ratio of 1123 females for every 1000 males,and a literacy rate of 82.43%.
    Notable personalities
    Ratnagiri has the distinction of being the native place of three Bharat Ratna awardees, namely Maharishi Karve, Lokmanya Tilak, Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane and Dr. B. R. Ambedkar

  • Forts and Historical Places
  • There are many Forts along the sea cost as well as along the Hilly areas near western Ghats. They are Hill Forts-Mahipatgad,Sumargad, Rasalgad,Prachitgad,Palgad, Mandangad fort, Govalkot,Bhavangad, Maimatgad Sea Forts-Bankot,Suvarnadurg,Fattegad,Gova Fort, Gopalgad, Jaigad, Vijaygad, Ratnagiri fort, Purnagad, Ambolgad, Yeshwantgad