Sindhudurg district,Maharashtra

Sindhudurg is an administrative district in the state of Maharashtra in India, which was carved out of the erstwhile Ratnagiri District. The district headquarters are located at Oros (???). The district occupies an area of 5207 km² and has a population of 849,651 of which 12.59% were urban (as of 2011).
As of 2011 it is the least populous district of Maharashtra (out of 39)

Origin of name

The district is named after the fort of Sindhudurg (which means “fort in the sea”), which lies on a rocky island just off the coast of Malvan. Sindhudurg fort, built in the 16th century by King Shivaji is the only fort which has Shivaji’s temple inside the fort and a palm imprint of King Shivaji. Sindhudurg district has 37 forts, the highest number of forts in Maharashtra as well as all types of forts (Jaldurg – Sea), (Bhuikot – fort on land) and (Giri- fort on hilltop).

Places of attraction

  • Sawantwadi Palace
  • Sawantwadi Lake (Moti Talav)
  • Tilari Dam (Dodamarg)
  • Mangeli Waterfall (Dodamarg) – One of the famous waterfall in recent years
  • Scuba diving in Malvan
  • Dodamarg Darshan – Eternal Ravishing
  • Vengurla Website
  • Redi Ganesh Vengurla
  • Navadurga Temple at Redi
  • Navdurga Redi
  • Amboli Hill Station Sawantwadi
  • Sindhudurg Fort in Malvan
  • Vijaydurg Fort Devgad
  • Dev Kaleshwar Temple, Nerur
  • Kunkeshwar temple, Devgad
  • Lakshminarayan Temple, Walwal
  • Shri Bramhanand Swami Math, Ozar (Taluka Malvan)
  • Shri Sai Baba Temple (First and oldest temple of Saibaba in India), Kudal
  • Napapne Waterfall, Vaibhavwadi
  • Bharadi Devi temple, Aangnewadi
  • Achara Beach and Rameshwar Temple (16th Century)
  • Shree Dev Rameshwar Temple, Achara
  • Bhalchandra Maharaj Ashram, Kankavli
  • Mangeli waterfall (Dodamarg Taluka – near Goa)
  • Amboli hill station near Sawantwadi
  • Shri Dev Rameshwar temple (17th Century) in Aakeri, Sawantwadi
  • Shri Dev Rameshwar Temple (16th Century) in Rameshwar, Girye-Vijaydurg
  • Shri Dev Kaleshwar temple, Nerur (Kudal)
  • Shri Dev Kudaleshwar Temple, Kudal
  • Shri Dev Laxmi Narayan, Walawal (Kudal)
  • Shri Dev ravalnath temple (ambdos, malvan)
  • Shri Devi Mauli Temple, Walawal (Kudal)
  • Shri Devi Yakshini Temple, Mangaon (Kudal)
  • Shri Dev Gopalkrishna Temple, Talashil-Tondavali (Malvan)
  • Shri Dev Rameshwar Temple, Humarmala- walawal (Kudal)
  • Shri Devi Sateri Shantadurga Temple, Mhapan (Vengurle)
  • Shri Dev Siddheshwar Temple, Mhapan (Vengurle)
  • Shri Dev Adnarayan Temple, Parule (Vengurle)
  • Shri Devi Chamundeshwari Temple, Aandurle (Kudal)
  • Shri Dev Vetoba temple, Parule (Vengurle)
  • Shri Dev Mahapurush temple,bhogave wadi Parule (Vengurle)
  • Shri Dev Kshetrapal temple, Parule-chipi (Vengurle)
  • Shri Dev Maruti Temple, Kudal City
  • Shri Dev Vetal Temple, Pendur (Kudal)
  • Shri Ganesh Temple at Sawarwad
  • Rock Garden at Malvan
  • Tarkarli Beach
  • Dhamapur Lake
  • Snorkeling and scuba diving at Tarkarli (Malvan)
  • Shri Lingeshwar-Pavanadevi Mandir,Janavali(Kanakavli)
  • Shri Maooli-Ravalnath-Vetal-Bagwe Maharaj Samadhi, Masure.
  • Shri kalbhairav temple, kharepatan(kankavli).
  • Shri Dev Kunkeshwar Temple (Devgad)