Goalpara district,Assam

Goalpara district is an administrative district in the state of Assam in India. The district headquarters are located in Goalpara town.


It was a princely state ruled by the Rajbongsi Kings and the then ruler of the undivided kingdom. Presently the erstwhile Goalpara district is divided into Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, Dhubri, and Goalpara district.

The name of the district Goalpara is widely said to have originally derived from `Gwaltippika` meaning `Guwali village` or the village of the milk men.The history of Goalpara goes back to several centuries. Based on the Chinese traveler `Hiuentsang` report, Sir Edward Gait had concluded that the erstwhile capital of the state of Kumar Bhaskar Varman was either in Goalpara district or in Cooch Behar. The district came under British rule in 1765. Before this, the area was under the control of the Koch dynasty. It was also part of greater British Bengal. In 1826 the British accessed Assam and Goalpara was annexed to Assam in 1874, along with the creation of district headquarters at Dhubri.

On 1 July 1983 two districts were split from Goalpara: Dhubri and Kokrajhar.On 29 September 1989 Bongaigaon district was created from parts of Goalpara and Kokrajhar.

The district headquarters are located at Goalpara. Goalpara district occupies an area of 1,824 square kilometres (704 sq mi),comparatively equivalent to South Korea’s Jeju-do.
In 2006 the Indian government named Goalpara one of the country’s 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640).It is one of the eleven districts in Assam currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).
Toursist Attractions
The Goalpara district is endowed with natural beauty and archaeological treasures. The important tourist spots of the district include:

  • Sri Surya Pahar, a very significant but relatively unknown archaeological site in Assam, a hill which showcases the remains of cultural heritage of three important religions of India, Buddhism, Jainism and Hinduism.
  • Dadan Hill has a Shiva Temple on its top. The temple was established by a general of the army of King Bana of Sonitpur named Dadan. The mystical hill is surrounded by mythological stories related to the bygone era.
  • Pir Majhar is situated at the heart of the Goalpara town, a tomb of a saint named Hazarat Sayed Abul Kasem Kharasani. He is a saint who was respected by Hindus and Muslims alike.
  • Hulukanda hill is located at the heart of Goalpara.
  • Sri Tukreswari hill
  • Paglartek Baba at Barbhita
  • Urpod beel of Agia
  • Dhamar Risen beel of Lakhipur are some other attractions of the district.