Kokrajhar district,Assam

Kokrajhar district is an administrative district in the state of Assam in north-eastern India. The district headquarters are located at Kokrajhar town. The district occupies an area of 3,169.22 km². As of 2001, the district had a population of 905,764. Hindus 594,168, Muslims 184,441 (20.36%).

Kokrajhar district serves as the gateway to the northeastern region of India. Roads and rails to Seven Sister States pass through this district on their way to other northeast states


Kokrajhar was originally a part the undivided Goalpara district. In 1957, under the administration of Bimala Prasad Chaliha as the Chief Minister of Assam, three sub-divisions were created one of which was Kokrajhar. This sub-division was made into a district on 1 July 1983.

On 29 September 1989 Bongaigaon district was created from parts of Kokrajhar and Goalpara.
Kokrajhar district occupies an area of 3,129 square kilometres (1,208 sq mi)comparatively equivalent to Russia’s Waigeo Island.[4] Kokrajhar district is located on the northern bank of the Brahmaputra river. It forms the gateway to the Seven Sister States. Kokrajhar shares its boundary with Bongaigaon (now known as Chirang), Dhubri, West Bengal, Barpeta and Bhutan.
National protected area

  • Manas National Park (Part)
  • Places of interest

  • Onthai Gwlao: Located in Chandrapara near the bank of river Gwrang.
  • Mahamaya temple: Located on the border between Kokrajhar and Dhubri.
  • Thandwi Bineswar Brahma Memorial Park: Located in Bhatermary on the bank of River Gwrang.
  • Daimalu Park: Located in Karigaon.
  • Notable personalities

  • Bineshwar Brahma, poet and author
  • Upendranath Brahma, Bodo leader
  • Ranjit Shekhar Mooshahary, IPS officer, director general of National Security Guards and Border Security Force, former governor of Meghalaya.
  • Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, Bodoland politician, nationalist and social activist