Baksa district,Assam

Baksa district is one of the 27 districts of Assam state under Bodoland Territorial Council in north-eastern India.

Baksa was notified as one of the districts of Bodoland Territorial Council in October 2003 while it started functioning from 1 June 2004 when Dr Anwaruddin Choudhury of the Assam Civil Service took charge as its founder Deputy Commissioner. It started working from PWD Inspection Bungalow of Barama on the NH 31 tll it was shifted to Mushalpur in late 2010.
It was created from parts of Barpeta, Nalbari, and Kamrup districts.
Mushalpur town is the headquarters of the district. This district is bounded by Bhutan in the north, Udalguri district in the east, Barpeta, Nalbari and Kamrup districts in the south and Chirang district in the west. Area of the district is 2400 km².
National protected area

  • Manas National Park (Part)
  • Divisions
    The district has three sub-divisions: Mushalpur, Salbari and Tamulpur. These sub-divisions are further divided into 13 revenue circles: Baksa, Barama, Tamulpur, Goreswar, Baganpara, Ghograpar, Barnagar, Bajali, Jalah, Patharighat, Rangia, Sarupeta and Tihu. Three Vidhan Sabha constituencies of this district are Tamulpur, Barama and Chapaguri. All of these are part of Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency.
    Major tribes
    Baksa district is the home many tribal inhabitants like Bodo, Rabha, Sarania kachari and Madahi.
    Educational Institutions
    Major educational institutions of Baksa district are:

  • B.B. Kishan College, Jalah
  • Barama College
  • Dhamdhama Junior College
  • Goreswar College
  • Mushalpur College
  • Salbari Junior College
  • Tamulpur College
  • Places of interest
    Major part of the world famous Manas National Park is located in this district. The park is well known for its Wild Water Buffaloes and Golden Langurs.Bogamati, a famous picnic spot with picturesque beauties is located in Baksa. Bhangtar is the other scenic location situated close to Bhutan border.