Agar Malwa District,Madhya Pradesh

Agar Malwa District became the 51st district of Madhya Pradesh on 16 August 2013. It was carved out of the existing Shajapur district. Agar town is its administrative headquarters. The population of the district is 4.80 lakh, spread over 2,785 km2.

It was a division during the Sindia state (some of their palaces are still presently used for city court and for other government offices). It was formerly a cantonment region at the time of India’s independence because of the favourable weather and the availability of water. It was a district under the state of Madhya Bharat after the independence of India until 1956. Since 16 August 2013 Agar Malwa has been the 51st district of Madhya Pradesh. The district was formed by removing Agar, Badod, Susner and Nalkheda tehsils from Shajapur District, decreasing its size.
The western part of the district is marked by the Agar Plateau that covers the major areas of Agar Malwa district. There is a hill tract to the west of the town of Badod, showing scattered hillocks in a north-south direction. The presence of hills in the center has affected the drainage pattern. The height of this tract varies between 500 metres (1,600 ft) and 545 metres (1,788 ft) above the mean sea level and it slopes towards the north.
Dudhaliy and Kachhol are the main streams in the west, originating from the hill tract and draining towards the west. Chhoti Kali Sindh, which is the main perennial stream of the region, flows northwards on the western border of the region.
Administrative divisions
Agar Malwa District has two sub-divisions, AgarMalwa division and Susner Division.There are four tehsils: AgarMalwa, Badod, Susner and Nalkheda.