Garhwa district,Jharkhand

Garhwa district is one of the twenty-four districts of Jharkhand state, India. Garhwa district is a part of the Palamu division, and its administrative headquarters are in the city of Garhwa.

On 1 April 1991, this district was created from the former Palamu district by separating its former Garhwa sub-division.
As of 2011 Garhwa district is currently a part of the Red Corridor.
Garhwa district lies between 23° 60’ and 24° 39’ north latitude and 83° 22’ and 84° 00’ east longitude. It is bordered by the Son River on the north, Palamau district of Jharkhand state on the east, Surguja district of Chhattisgarh state on the south, and Sonebhadra district of Uttar Pradesh on the west.
In 2006 the Indian government named Garhwa district as one of the country’s 250 most forward districts, out of a total of 640.It is one of the 21 districts in Jharkhand state currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).

Garhwa district comprises two subdivisions: Garhwa and Nagar-Untari, which are further divided into 14 blocks. At the time of creation, this district comprised only eight blocks: Bhandaria, Bhawanathpur, Dhuraki, Garhwa, Majhiyaon, Meral, Nagar-Untari and Ranka. Later, six more blocks were created by reorganizing the existing blocks. These are: Chiniya, Dandai, Kandi, Kharaundhi, Ramkanda and Ramuna. This district comprises 156 gram panchayat and 916 villages. It has two police sub-divisions: Garhwa and Nagar-Untari, with eight police stations in Bhandaria, Bhawnathpur, Dhurki, Garhwa, Majhiyaon, Meral, Nagar-Untari, and Ranka.

The district consists mostly forests and has only one city, Garhwa, which is also the district headquarters.

There are two Vidhan Sabha constituencies in this district: Garhwa and Bhawanathpur. Both are part of Palamau Lok Sabha constituency.